Menu
Close

Shane Hanna: Sometimes the best way to learn is to jump in with both feet

Shane Hanna: Sometimes the best way to learn is to jump in with both feet

RSC media Team og Shane Hannah har udvekslede et par spørgsmål og svar, efter hans signing med mesterskabs klubben.

Hej Shane, you have signed a one year deal with Rungsted after a full season, what was instrumental in your decision to move to Europe after a full season of AHL?
I had always thought about playing in Europe when I was in college, and after playing a couple seasons in North America I was presented with this opportunity to play in Rungsted. It didn’t take me long to decide what I wanted to do this year and I couldn’t be more excited to fly over and meet the players, staff, and the fans.

How much do you know about Denmark and the Danish League. Have you spoken to anyone about it here, do you have any friends who have played in Denmark?
I know a few players who have come over. For the most part I don’t know much about the league, but I’m eager to evolve as a player and sometimes the best way to learn is to jump in with both feet and learn by doing — by immersing myself in the environment and culture.

How would you describe yourself as a player? What kan Rungsted fans expect when you step on the ice?
I would describe myself as a two-way defenseman that can play in all situations. I want to play well defensively but jump up in the rush and contribute offensively as well.

What is your biggest hockey moment so far in your career?
My biggest moment would be winning the WCHA playoff championship in my last year at Michigan Technological University. I was fortunate enough to score the double overtime winner and it made us able to qualify for the NCAA tournament.

With the experience of winning the NCAA title, what do you see as important ingredients to be a contending team?
My college division was the WCHA which is a league a part of the NCAA — our team qualified for that tournament twice, but within the WCHA we won the playoffs and the league, once each, in my 4 years of college.